Log in

Log in

Stoney Grant Awardees

The Stoney Grant was established in 1997 to honor Professor Harold (Stoney) Stonehouse (at left), who was instrumental in providing direction and inspiration to MESTA for many years. Stoney helped to establish the National Earth Science Teachers Association as well.

In the first year of the Stoney Grant program,  a total of 10 grants were awarded. Grants were given to elementary, middle school, and high school teachers from schools across the state.

MESTA Telescope Building Workshop Participants

For six years MESTA  awarded an annual $5,000.00 Stoney Grant to groups 10 teachers @ $500.00 each for constructing their own telescope through a telescope building workshop led by MESTA board member Kevin Dehne. The total Stoney Grant awarded for this project  was $30,000.00. Below is a list of known recipients. If you participated in this workshop and don't see your name below, contact us and we will add you!

List of Participants Each Year

(Including home city and school district)

  • 2003:  6” Newtonian Reflector on Dobsonian mount

    No data available.

    2004:  8” Newtonian Reflector on Dobsonian mount

  • Connie Atkisson, Monroe, Detroit Public School Distrct
  • Ryan Cicinelli, Midland, Meridian High School
  • Nathan Czarnik, Standish, Standish School District
  • George Emerick, Saginaw, Sub-Teacher
  • Jeffery Gartrell, Davison, Imlay City High School
  • Ailey Lovejoy, Saginaw, Carrollton High School
  • Judith Meier, Bay City, Vassar School District
  • Michael Ombry, Bay City, Bridgeport School District
  • Joseph Passalacqua, Midland, Beaverton High School
  • Steven Zill, Hemlock, Valley Lutheran High School
  • 2005:  8” Newtonian Reflector on Dobsonian mount

  • Kristin Calhoun, Lapeer, Saginaw High School
  •  Carrie DeShone, Freeland, Freeland School District
  • Terry Fegan, Linwood, Standish-Sterling High School
  • Elizabeth Houghteling, Bay City, Faith Lutheran School
  • Frances Hunt, Saginaw, St. Charles High School
  • Jason Lemon, Caro, Akron-Fairgrove High School
  • Joseph Plas, Freeland, Freeland School District
  • Melanie Rusz, St. Charles, Heritage High School
  • Bruce Sherbeck, Bay City Saginaw Township School District
  • Stefanie Wilson, Sanford, Saginaw High School
  • 2006:  8” Newtonian Reflector on Dobsonian mount

  • Linda Barrand. Mt. Pleasant, Shepherd School District
  • BJ Harper, Ft. Wayne Indiana, Ft. Wayne Consolidated Schools
  • Karena Herdell, Pontiac, Hamtramek School District
  • Julie Mader, Midland, Swan Valley School District
  • Amy Sabourin, Midland, Midland Public Schools
  • Christopher Sabourin, Midland, Midland Public Schools
  • Chuck Schepke, Roscommon
  • Kristen Simons, Freeland, Swan Valley School District
  • Paulette Stuart, Saginaw, Swan Valley School District
  • Sheri Turner, Auburn, Bangor Township School District
  • 2007:  8” Newtonian Reflector on Dobsonian mount

  • Dana Deaper-Rosin, Midland, Lapeer School District
  • Theresa-Anne Eldredge, Garden City, Univ Prep Academy
  • Mary Kay Heckman, Midland, Freeland Middle School
  • Lynette Louchart-Kiefer, Birch Run, Flint Public Schools
  • Jessica Nickell, Turner, AuGres-Sims School District
  • Amanda & Don Pata, Harper Woods, Grosse Pointe Public Schools
  • Daniel Sealey, Bay City, Saginaw Public Schools
  • Jessica Strefling, Midland, St. John’s Lutheran-Midland
  • MaryAnn Woods, Midland, St. John’s Lutheran-Midland
  • Art & Donna Weinle, Grosse Pointe Public Schools
  • 2008:   8” Newtonian Reflector on Dobsonian mount

  • Deborah Budzinski, Clio, Beecher School District
  • Durrell Caister, Bay City, Bay City School District
  • Tiffany Dysinger, Flint, Flint School District
  • Sterling Herrmann, Cass City, Cass City School District
  • Leland Jennings, Nashville, St. Charles School District
  • Karen Malloy, Kalkaska, Mancelona Public School District
  • Joy McFadyen, Bay City, Bay City School District
  • Caleb Miller, East Lansing, St. Johns E. Lansing School District
  • Brent Smith, Lake Orion, Kearsley School District
  • Constance VanSlambrouck, Birch Run, Lansing School District

 Year Recipient  Project
 2007  Tim Neason  Multimedia projector to boost curriculum
 2007  Cris DeWolf  Sunspots, Solar Flares & Students
 2008  Barbara Pepper  Groundwater Studies
 2008  Jennifer Wickersham  Rock n’ Lab 
 2008  Rachel Badanowsky  Mineral Chemistry
 2008  Eileen Byrnes  Clinton River/ Metro Beach Field Trip
 2008  Connie Atkisson  In Search of Stars
 2008  Lisa Beckman  Topography Golf Course
 2008  William Hodges  Modeling & Manipulating River Erosion Systems
 2008  Michelle Pifer  Meteorology Barograph
 2009  Sally Wood-Hoskin  Hearing Light
 2009  Michael Bause  MAGnificent Telescope
 2011  David Chapman  Grand Canyon Geology
 2011  Maria Gonzalez  Micro-Climate Project
 2012  Jay Sinclair  Coronado solar telescope
 2012  Sally Wood-Hoskin  Earthquake table
 2013  Utaminarsih Enberg  Geology course at Reeths-Puffer HS
 2014  Utaminarsih Enberg  Groundwater systems & seismic wave activities
 2014  Shawn McNamara  Student Inquiry into Climate
 2015  Matthew Baleja  Wind Energy Exploration at Paw Paw MS
 2016  Pamela Opolsky  Weather Station
 2017   Richard Green    Field Trip to Northern Michigan: Understanding Geological History by Witnessing It 
 2018  Ashley Meyer  
 Developing a High School Geology Course at Hamilton High School 
 2019  Brad Stevens  
 Starting High School Advanced Geology at Zeeland High School  
 2019 Eric Lehman Advanced Earth & Space Science at Ionia High School
 2020  Laura Bell  Water Investigations at Okemos High School 

Follow our activities

© Wild Apricot teachers association. 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software