Log in



NESTA presents “From the Solar System to the Cosmos”

A virtual astronomy workshop            July 20-24, 2020 

REGISTRATION DEADLINE: JULY 12, 2020

What's it about?

Vera C. Rubin Observatory is developing a series of online astronomy investigations that provide a pathway for students to engage in a rich and interactive experience. These investigations offer an innovative way to bring real astronomical data into your classroom.  

Who can attend?

The activities are suitable for students at the advanced middle school through introductory (non-science major) college levels. Instructors, informal educators and teacher-trainers for all of these levels are welcome. 

Tentative schedule

Each day, we will meet online for two hours, starting at  8am HST/ 10am AKDT/ 11am PDT/11am Arizona/ 12 pm MDT/ 1pm CDT/ 2pm EDT. Participants are expected to spend an additional hour offline each day.

During each online session, you will get a short subject matter overview, have a chance to collaboratively work through an activity in breakout rooms, and engage in conversations with peers about how the investigations and related support materials can be adapted to work in your classroom contexts and support your learning outcomes. 

The topics we will cover are:

  • Exploding Stars (supernovae)
  • Expanding Universe (Hubble's law)
  • Exploring the Observable Universe (look back time, cosmological redshift, and the large scale structure of the Universe)
  • Surveying the Solar System (investigating the physical and orbital properties of small Solar System Objects, such as comets, asteroids, and TNOs)
  • Coloring the Universe (the science behind making color astronomical images)


What's involved in the offline component?

Each day, you will be asked to reflect on the materials you worked with and will fill out two evaluations-one for the online investigation and one on some specific related support materials, such as an assessment, teacher guide, etc.


I want to attend, but I have a time conflict.

Each online session will be recorded, and if you are registered, you will receive access to the recording and each day's materials so you can complete the online and offline sessions.


I need NGSS-style activities. Are these a fit for my classroom?

Yes. Each investigation has been designed with NGSS in mind and comes with assessments, rubrics and scoring guides, and other support materials.


What's in it for me?

First, you get a chance to polish up your content knowledge. You will be some of the first people to see what we are developing, and your feedback will help to optimize these investigations for future students and teachers. NESTA will provide professional development *certificates of participation to all participants who complete the workshop. There will be drawings for gift cards for those who complete all five days of the workshop. Participants will, at their option, be added to the Rubin Observatory EPO e-mail list for updates about future sessions and opportunities to pilot test materials.  *Certificates of participation are available only to those who complete both the online and offline portions of the workshop.

Register Now!    It's free!


   

   Rubin Observatory is now under construction near Cerro Pachon, 
   Chile. Image credit LSST Project/NSF/AURA

    For more information, see our video.

Follow our activities

© Wild Apricot teachers association. 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software