Menu
Log in


 
Log in

Celestial Events 2023

Many events will be happening during 2023.  Check them out, curtesy of Space.com.

Jan. 4: The Earth reaches it's perihelion (91,403,034 mi from the Sun) position in orbit (closest).

Jan. 6: The full moon of January, known as the Wolf Moon arrives at 6:08 p.m. EST (2308 GMT)

Jan. 21: The new moon arrives at 3:53 p.m. EST (2053 GMT).

Feb. 5: The full moon of February, known as the Snow Moon, arrives at 1:29 p.m. EST (1829 GMT)

Feb. 20: The new moon arrives at 2:06 a.m. EST (0706 GMT).

March 7: The full moon of March, known as the Worm Moon, arrives at 7:40 a.m. EST (1240 GMT)

March 21: The new moon will arrive at 1:23 p.m. EDT(1823 GMT).

Apr. 6: The full moon of April, known as the Pink Moon, will arrive at 12:34 a.m. EDT (0534 GMT).

Apr. 20: The new moon will arrive at 12:12 a.m. EDT (0512 GMT).

Apr. 20: A rare hybrid solar eclipse will occur today. The solar eclipse will be visible to observers across southeast Asia and Australia. 

Apr. 22: The Lyrid meteor shower peaks tonight! The shower is active between Apr. 16 and Apr. 25 each year.

May 5: The full moon of May, known as the Flower Moon, will arrive at 1:34 p.m. EDT (1834 GMT).

May 5: A penumbral lunar eclipse will occur today! Some parts of the lunar eclipse should be visible in South/East Europe, Much of Asia, Australia, Africa, Pacific, Atlantic, the Indian Ocean and Antarctica.

May 5: The Eta Aquarid meteor shower peaks tonight! The shower is active between Apr. 15 and May 27 each year. 

May 19: The new moon will arrive at 11:53 a.m. EDT (1653 GMT).

June 3: The full moon of June, known as the Strawberry Moon, will arrive at 11:42 p.m. EDT (0442 GMT on June 4).

June 18: The new moon will arrive at 12:37 a.m. EDT (0537 GMT).

June 21: Today marks the summer solstice in the Northern Hemisphere and the winter solstice for the Southern Hemisphere.

July 3: The full moon of July, known as the Buck Moon, will arrive at 7:39 a.m. EDT (1239 GMT). 

July 6: The Earth reaches it's aphelion (94,506,364 mi from the Sun) position in orbit (farthest).

July 17: The new moon will arrive at 2:32 p.m. EDT (1932 GMT).

Aug. 1: The full moon of August, known as the Sturgeon Moon, will arrive at 2:32 p.m. EDT (1932 GMT). 

Aug. 11: The Perseid meteor shower peaks tonight! The prolific shower is active from mid-July until late August. 

Aug. 16: The new moon will arrive at 5:38 a.m. EDT (1038 GMT).

Aug. 30: The second full moon in August is known as the Blue Moon as it's the second full moon in a calendar moon. It will arrive at 9:36 p.m. EDT (0236 GMT Aug 31).

Sept 14: The new moon will arrive at 9:40 p.m. EDT (0240 GMT on Sept. 15).

Sept. 29: The full moon of September, known as the Harvest Moon, will occur at 5:58 a.m. EDT (1058 GMT).

Oct. 8: The Draconid meteor shower peaks tonight! The shower is active between Oct. 6 and Oct. 10.

Oct. 14: The new moon will arrive at 1:55 p.m. EDT (1855 GMT).

Oct. 14: An annular solar eclipse will cross North, Central and South America today! 

Oct. 20: The Orionid meteor shower peaks tonight! The shower is active between Sept. 26 and Nov. 22. 

Oct. 28: The full moon of October, known as the Hunter's Moon, will occur at 4:24 p.m. EDT (2124 GMT).

Oct. 28: A partial lunar eclipse will occur today! Some parts of the partial lunar eclipse should be visible over Europe, Asia, Australia, Africa, North America, North/East South America, the Pacific, Atlantic and Indian Oceans, the Arctic and Antarctica.

Nov. 4: The Southern Taurid meteor shower peaks tonight! The shower is active between Sept. 28 and Dec. 2. 

Nov. 11: The Northern Taurid meteor shower peaks tonight! The shower is active between Oct. 13 and Dec. 2. 

Nov. 13: The new moon will arrive at 4:27 a.m. EST (0927 GMT).

Nov. 17: The Leonid meteor shower peaks tonight! The shower is active between Nov. 3 and Dec. 2.

Nov. 27: The full moon of November, known as the Beaver Moon, will arrive at 4:16 a.m. EST (0916 GMT)

Dec. 12: The new moon will arrive at 6:32 p.m. EST (2332 GMT).

Dec. 14: The Geminid meteor shower peaks tonight! The shower is active between Dec. 4 and Dec. 17.

Dec 21: Today is the winter solstice for the Northern Hemisphere and the summer solstice for the Southern Hemisphere.

Dec: 21: The Ursid meteor shower peaks tonight! The shower is active from Dec. 13 to Dec. 24.

Dec. 26: The full moon of December, known as the Cold Moon, will occur at 7:33 p.m. EST (0033 GMT on Dec. 27).


Follow our activities

© Wild Apricot teachers association. 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software